Sophie Bee Rabbit

Published June 29, 2012 by minilophop

Sophie Bee

  • Rabbit, New Zealand/Flemish Giant Mix
  • Red
  • Female, Spayed
  • DOB ~ 2009 Gotcha 05-March-2012
  • Likes- FOOD! running all over the living room
  • Dislikes- hugs and cats

After Cinderella passed Houdini went into a deep depression. He would lay in the door to their burrow with his chin on the floor. He wouldn’t eat, drink, or groom himself. I was worried we would lose him in days if we didn’t do something. I looked at petfinder and we found a couple big beautiful ladies looking for a man.

Pepper and Sophie were abandoned when they grew too large and the children grew bored. Who would get a New Zealand/Flemish GIANT if they wanted a small rabbit? Houdini met Pepper first. There was no love there, Houdini nipped at her. Then we tried her sister, Sophie. Everything changed instantly! He started to groom himself and slid right up to her. They bonded right away.

         

Sophie is a very opinionated girl, I love her sassyness! If the cats get too close she grunts and charges at them. If I pick her up for hugs she grunts at me too, I just kiss her nose which makes her madder. She will settle on my lap for 30 minutes or so before demanding to romp. I’m very happy that she no longer finches when I pet her ears. I think she had some bad experiences with people so it took a while for her to trust. She got her middle name because she loves to buzz around the living room like a bee, sniffing this and chinning that.

She gave me a little scare. It took two weeks to get her in for her spay. Two days before she started nesting! Turns out it was a false pregnancy since Houdini is neutered. Thank goodness!

               

Leave a Reply

