Frank, Bess, Nancy, Jo, Buffy, Willow, Alvin, & Eleanor Birds

Published January 6, 2012 by minilophop

Frank, Bess, Nancy, Jo, Buffy, Willow, Alvin, & Eleanor

  • Zebra finches
  • 2 Male and 6 Female
  • DOB  2008-2009
  • Likes- taking baths, millet seeds, and singing 
  • Dislikes- No nesting sites

Frank, Bess, Nancy, Jo, Buffy, Willow, Alvin, and Eleanor are the finches we currently have. Zander, Tara, Simon, Theodore, Brittaney and Jeanette were re-homed to a girl in Ohio who really wanted them. We started out with just Frank, Jo, Bess, and Nancy but then they had two clutches before I learned I could take out the nests so they would stop. One clutch had 3 boys and 3 girls so I named them after the chipmunks. The other clutch had one boy and three girls so I named them after Buffy characters. I was feeling a little over whelmed when my Sister’s babysitter’s daughter started to look for some small birds. I was happy to give her the cage and all just so they could have a good home. Our current group lives in a 6 foot long flight cage (two cages put together) so they get lots of exercise and has space to spread their little wings.

I was honestly shocked when I first started to look for finches that rescue groups wouldn’t even call me back once they knew I had cats. Obviously from the picture the cats do like to watch the birds flutter around. However, they quickly learned it was not ok to jump at the bars. When I was feeding them one time Frank decided to slip out under my hand. Andre had caught him so quickly I just screamed “Andre NO!” Amazingly, he listened! It was just like a cartoon, the cat spit out the bird in a small puff of feathers. I got Frank back into the cage. A little slobbered on, but no worse for wear. Not a single bite. Andre just wanted to play.

Leave a Reply

